The Outer Banks Community Foundation is proud to be the largest and most diverse scholarship provider in our community. We currently administer 55 scholarship funds, mostly for graduating high school seniors from Dare County, Currituck County, and Ocracoke. Some of our scholarships are also available to adult continuing education students.

Several of our scholarships are renewable for up to three additional years, so long as the student completes a brief re-application each spring, meets our GPA requirements, and meets any other criteria specific to his/her scholarship.

In addition to our scholarships for local, college-bound seniors, we also manage several scholarship endowments targeting College of The Albemarle students, including the Billy G. Roughton Memorial Scholarship for Tourism and Hospitality, and the need-based Milton A. Jewell Trade and Technical Scholarship program for Dare County continuing education students. These applications are handled by the College Workforce Development & Career Readiness Department. For details, please contact Sherri May at 252-473-2264, ext. 7511 or

We also partner with the College of The Albemarle Foundation, which handles applications for the following Community Foundation Scholarships: College of The Albemarle Scholarship, ECB Land of Beginnings Living Legend Scholarship, First Flight Society Scholarship, Joe Riddick Trade and Technical Scholarship, Peggy O’Brien Scholarship, Tom O’Brien Scholarship, and the Dorothy Scott Townsend Fletcher Scholarship. Current or incoming COA students can click here to apply.

Learn More: